top of page
Uneven Orange Wall


Bringing together UCSF Psychiatry and Behavior Sciences Heath Psychology, the Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, and UC Berkeley’s Greater Good Science Center the Network for Emotional Well-Being team holds leading expertise in emotional well-being, spanning the physiological mechanisms and processes that underlie psychological experiences and mental health, the psychological factors and behaviors that reliably predict physical and mental health in individuals and amongst large population samples, and the origins, nature, and functions of human emotions.


The Network for Emotional Well-Being Scientific Advisory Board includes an even broader scope and depth of international leaders in the science of emotional well-being providing a diverse array of methodological approaches, perspectives, and expertise.

Core Team 
Alexandra Crosswell

Assistant Professor 

UC San Francisco 


Postdoctoral Scholar

UC San Francisco 

Emiliana Simon-Thomas

Science Director 

Greater Good Science Center 


Postdoctoral Scholar

UC San Francisco 

Aric Prather

Associate Professor 

UC San Francisco 

Elena Fromer

Lab Director 

Aging, Metabolism, and Emotions Center 

UC San Francisco 

Laura Kubzansky

Professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences 

Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Dacher Keltner

Professor of Psychology 

UC Berkeley 

Elissa Epel

Professor and Vice Chair 

Department of Psychiatry 

UC San Francisco 

Wendy Berry Mendes

Professor and Sarlo/Ekman Endowed Chair in the Study of Human Emotions 

UC San Francisco 

Scientific Advisory Board
Anthony Ong

Professor of Psychology 

Cornell University 

Jacqui Smith

Professor of Psychology 

University of Michigan 

Laura Carstensen

Professor of Psychology 

Stanford University

Andrew Steptoe

Professor of Psychology and Epidemiology

University College London

Jinkook Lee

Research Professor of Economics

CESR Director of Program on Global Aging, Health, & Policy 

University of Southern California 

Shigehiro Oishi

Professor of Psychology

University of Virginia

Arthur Stone

Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Economics 

University of Southern California 

Julian Thayer

Distinguished Professor of Psychological Science 

UC Irvine 

Sonja Lyubomirsky

Distinguished Professor and Vice Chair

UC Riverside 

bottom of page